Our network

UH Hilo announces Chancellor’s scholars for 2011 | Schools

Title (Max 100 Characters)

UH Hilo announces Chancellor’s scholars for 2011
UH Hilo announces Chancellor’s scholars for 2011

The University of Hawai`i at Hilo announces that 17 Hawai`i high school graduates have been selected to receive the Chancellor’s Scholarship.  This year’s recipients come from high schools located on Hawai`i, Maui and O`ahu.  The prestigious award, estimated to be worth more than $22,000, is presented annually to outstanding graduates from Hawai`i high schools.

“These graduates have distinguished themselves in two ways: by placing in the top 10% of their graduating class, and by demonstrating leadership abilities,” said Chancellor Donald Straney.  “We’re very pleased that these outstanding students will be attending UH Hilo.”

In addition to receiving the scholarship, the students will also be called upon to work with other Chancellor scholars in numerous leadership and community service activities.  The 2011 Chancellor Scholarship recipients and their respective high schools are as follows:

  • Richard Abbley, Lanikila Baptist High School, O`ahu                                       
  • Goody Cacal, Waipahu High School, O`ahu
  • Matt Chen, McKinley High School, O`ahu
  • Erik Ferreira, St. Anthony High School, Maui
  • Carrie Ip, Waiakea High School, Hawai`i
  • I’inimaikalani Kahakalau, Kanu o ka ‘Aina, Hawai`i
  • Christopher Kluzak, St. Joseph High School, Hawai`i
  • Anjulie Larson, Ka`u High School, Hawai`i
  • Nicole Preston, Mililani High School, O`ahu
  • Ethan Souza, Honoka`a High School, Hawai`i
  • Tristan Yoshida, Waiakea High School, Hawai`i
  • Kadi Igawa, Waiakea High School, Hawai`i
  • Blaine Luiz, Konawaena High School, Hawai`i
  • Micha Rhobelyn Ramos, Kea`au High School, Hawai`i
  • Shelby Tanaka, Hawai`i Baptist Academy, O`ahu
  • Chelsea Sato, Waiakea High School, Hawai`i
  • Taylor Escalona, Hilo High School, Hawai`i

Big Island Deals

Big Island Businesses